Presidents Cup, Team Us Favorite In Charlotte

Presidents Cup, favorite of the American team in Charlotte

In Charlotte, in the United States (North Carolina), everything is ready for the 14th edition of the Presidents Cup – scheduled for September 22-25 – which is preparing to return as the protagonist three years after the last time.

Presidents Cup schedule

On the one hand the USA led by Davis Love III (Major champion, won the PGA Championship in 1997), on the other the International Team (excluding European players) led by the South African Trevor Immelman, winner of The Masters in 2008.

The challenge (the first edition was played in 1994, at the head of the organization is the PGA Tour) will be held at the Quail Hollow Club field. There is no prize money at stake, with the PGA Tour donating the proceeds to charities selected by the players, captains and assistants of the two teams.

The United States has so far dominated the scene by winning the competition 11 times. The International Team’s only feat came in 1998 in Australia, while the 2003 match in South Africa ended in a draw. The US, once again, starts with the underdogs.

Since they can also count on the contribution of the number 1 in the world, Scottie Scheffler. Among the stars of the Stars and Stripes team are, among others, Patrick Cantlay, Xander Schauffele and Justin Thomas.

The international team (both teams consist of 12 players) will focus heavily on Japan’s Hideki Matsuyama, South Korea’s Sungjae Im and Australia’s Adam Scott. Both the USA and the International Team had to deal with the forced stoppage – imposed by the PGA Tour – of some champions (from Bryson DeChambeau to Cameron Smith) who opted for the Arab Super League and were excluded from the event.

That will be decided in four days: on Thursday September 22 there are 5 foursomes, on Friday 5 fourballs, on Saturday 4 fourballs and as many foursomes. While on Sunday the 25th the 12 individual matches will be played.

In the event of a tie, the two teams will «split» the Presidents Cup. And this is perhaps one of the main differences with the Ryder Cup (in case of a tie, the team that won the competition last time retains the trophy), which guarantees 28 points in total against 30 (this year) in the Presidents Cup.

The last edition of the Presidents Cup took place in 2019 when Tiger Woods ‘USA came from behind Ernie Els’ International Team’. The postponement (due to a medical emergency) of the Ryder Cup from 2020 to 2021 also caused the Presidents Cup to be postponed for one year.

Deja un comentario

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *

Ir arriba