Kaitlyn Carnicella For Auburn Gets First Freshman Title Of The Week!

Kaitlyn Carnicella for Auburn takes first freshman title of the week!

As reported by the University website, Auburn freshman Kaitlyn Carnicella received SEC Freshman of the Week honors after her first weekend of doubles play on the plains., the league office announced Wednesday. Her weekend stood out as she knocked out the No. 5 singles player in the nation, North Carolina’s Abbey Forbes, by a score of 7-6(2), 6-7(5), 1-0.

In doubles, Carnicella recorded two wins over the weekend. In her first double-double match, she and freshman DJ Bennett defeated Iowa State’s Miska Kadleckova and Sofia Cabezas 6-3 before defeating Samford’s Alexis Lopez and Lauren Waddles 6-1 along with teammate Adeline Flach.

Carnicella and the Tigers no. 15 will return to action at the ITA kickoff weekend taking place in Auburn at the Yarbrough Tennis Center starting on Saturday. Auburn will take on the University of California, Santa Barbara on Saturday at 11:00 CT, then take on No.

19 Arizona State or No. 23 UCF on Sunday with time to be determined after the game concludes on Saturday.

About Auburn University

Auburn is a public university located in Auburn, Alabama, United States. With more than 25,000 students and 1,200 teachers, it is one of the largest in the state.

Auburn University’s sports teams are known as the Tigers and compete in NCAA Division IA and the Southeastern Conference (SEC) West Division. Auburn has won 19 intercollegiate championships (including 17 NCAA championships), three in football (1913, 1957, 2010), 8 in men’s swimming and diving (1997, 1999, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009 ), 5 in women’s swimming and diving (2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007), 2 in horse riding (2008, 2011) and one in women’s athletics (2006).

Auburn has also won a total of 70 Southeastern Conference titles, 51 men’s and 19 women’s. Auburn’s colors are orange and blue, chosen by George Petrie, the head coach of the university’s football team, inspired by the colors of his alma mater, the University of Virginia.

Auburn was founded on February 7, 1856 during the presidency of Franklin Pierce, as East Alabama Male College, a private liberal arts school affiliated with the Methodist Episcopal Church. In 1872, the college became the first public university to benefit from the Morrill Act and was renamed the Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical College. Photo credits: Auburn University website

Deja un comentario

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *

Scroll al inicio