Auburn Men'S Team Fell 1-4 To Tulane

Auburn men’s team fell 1-4 to Tulane


The Auburn University men’s tennis team suffered a 4-1 loss Sunday against No. Tulane, in New Orleans.. Auburn will go home Thursday for an SEC matchup with No. 6 Kentucky. That match will start at 3:00 p.m. CT at the Yarbrough Tennis Center where admission is free.

Live video streaming and live scoring of the game will be available at As the Auburn website reports, in singles, the Tigers suffered a pair of straight-set losses to bring the deficit to 3-0. Will Nolan fell to Luc Hoeijmans 6-2, 6-3 on court four, while Finn Murgett nearly missed the third set but lost 6-2, 7-5.

Tyler Stice earned his first win since the Blue-Grey National Tennis Classic by defeating No. 80 Fynn Kuenkler 6-4, 7-5. Stice’s win marks his 12th singles win of the season and his eighth win in singles doubles. With the score now 3-1, Auburn needed to win the remaining three games to secure a team victory.

Raúl Dobai forced a third set against Alex Bancila on court five and Alejandro Moreno was forced into the third set after his opponent, Billy Suárez, won a tiebreaker to take the second set on court two. Freshman Billy Blaydes lost the first set in a long tiebreak and was forced into another second set tiebreak on court six.

Rafael de Alba won the tiebreaker to take the second set to win 7-6(7), 7-6(5), as well as the team victory for Tulane. Both Moreno’s and Dobai’s matches were inconclusive after the Green Wave claimed victory. In doubles, after Auburn lost game one on court two 6-4, the other two doubles games were very close games decided by tiebreakers.

Auburn’s Tyler Stice and Alejandro Moreno claimed field three with a score of 7-6(3) and Tulane claimed field one with a score of 7-6(4) to take the doubles point.

About Auburn University

Auburn is a public university located in Auburn, Alabama, United States.

With more than 25,000 students and 1,200 teachers, it is one of the largest in the state. Auburn University’s sports teams are known as the Tigers and compete in NCAA Division IA and the Southeastern Conference (SEC) West Division.

Auburn has won 19 intercollegiate championships (including 17 NCAA championships), three in football (1913, 1957, 2010), 8 in men’s swimming and diving (1997, 1999, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009 ), 5 in women’s swimming and diving (2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007), 2 in horse riding (2008, 2011) and one in women’s athletics (2006).

Auburn has also won a total of 70 Southeastern Conference titles, 51 men’s and 19 women’s. Auburn’s colors are orange and blue, chosen by George Petrie, the head coach of the university’s football team, inspired by the colors of his alma mater, the University of Virginia.

Auburn was founded on February 7, 1856 during the presidency of Franklin Pierce, as East Alabama Male College, a private liberal arts school affiliated with the Methodist Episcopal Church. In 1872, the college became the first public university to benefit from the Morrill Act and was renamed the Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical College. Photo credits: Auburn University website


Deja un comentario

Scroll al inicio